28 May 2022

Faughanvale open the new season with a victory at Foreglen

McGuinness goal separated the teams

Faughanvale open the new season with a victory at Foreglen

Conor McGuinness' goal helped Faughanvale to victory over Foreglen on Friday night. (Pic: Mary K Burke)


Faughanvale 1-10 Foreglen 0-9

A fortuitous first-half goal from Conor McGuinness helped Faughanvale to victory in a cagey encounter at Foreglen in the opening game of the season.

Joe Gray has had his hand strengthened by the return from injury of Oisin Quinn, while Dean Curran has transferred from Doire Colmcille and former player Eugene O'Kane has moved back after spells with Banagher and Limavady.

Curtis O'Hara scored two points in the first ten minutes for the visitors before both sides went on to squander a host of missed chances. Mark Creane and Kyle McGuinness added scores to settle the 'Vale.

The defining moment came when Conor McGuinness lofted a pass in the direction of Curran, but the flight of the ball deceived everyone and ended up in the back of the Foreglen net.


Both teams missing score able chances in first 15 mins it took defender Kyle McGuinness and midfielder  Mark Creane to settle the nerves

Faughanvale started to dominate midfield at the start of the second half with some excellent fielding from Creane. Scores from Paddy O'Kane and Connlaoth McGee stretched their lead to six points.

After a second water break Foreglen – who lost Johnny O'Dwyer to the sin-bin - started to come back into the game bringing the match down to three points, but Paddy O'Kane hit the insurance point for the visitors.

FAUGHANVALE: Daryl Moore; Shane McElhinney, Michael Sweeney, Sean Butcher; Kyle McGuinness (0-1), Conor McGuinness (1-0), Connlaoth McGee (0-1); Eoin McElhinney (0-1), Mark Creane (0-1); Cathal O'Kane, Paddy O'Kane (0-4, 1f), James Moore; Kevin Martin, Curtis O'Hara (0-2), Dean Curran
SUBS: Oisin Quinn, Aaron Cassidy, Eugene O'Kane

FOREGLEN: Tiernan Burke; John Duffy, Sean O'Connor, Fintan O'Hara; James O'Kane (0-1), Oisin Duffy, Liam Downey; Liam O'Hara (0-1), Niall McConway; Eoghan Duffy, Johnny O'Dwyer, Ruairi McFeely; Caolan O'Connor, Kevin O'Connor (0-5, 1f), Cahir O'Connor
SUBS: Ciaran McFeely (0-1), Paul O'Kane


To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.