19 May 2022

Grant and McBride net twice in Ballinascreen win

Derry club scene gets underway

Grant and McBride net twice in Ballinascreen win

Barry Grant scored 2-2 in Ballinascreen's win over Loup. (Pic: Mary K Burke)

Two goals each from Barry Grant and Euan McBride were the difference, as Ballinascreen ran out 4-3 to 1-9 winners at home to Loup.

It was a win in his first game for new Ballinascreen manager, former Fermanagh forward Ciaran McElroy.

Caolan Devlin and Grant exchanged scores, before Ronan Devlin floated over a beauty from the wing.

A long ball from Carlus McWilliams wasn't punched clear by Thomas Mallon and Grant pounced for his first goal.

Daire Kelly had a fine game for 'Screen at full back on Marc Devlin, who had tortured Magherafelt in last year's championship semi-final.

Grant smashed home a second goal, but Devlin hit the net for Loup, with points from Roddy O'Kane and Paddy Coney (2) putting Loup 1-6 to 2-2 ahead by half-time.

Despite Euan McBride netting a third 'Screen goal, it was Loup who still looked comfortable on the ball.

Two frees from Aaron McAlynn levelled the game, before McBride palmed home at the end of a short passing move to win the game.

BALLINASCREEN: Niall McGlade; Dermot McBride, Daire Kelly, Caoilte McAlinden; Ronan Murphy, Carlus McWilliams, Ronan Devlin (0-1); Paul Burns, Marty Bradley; Ciaran Doyle, Anton Scullion, Conor McGovern; Cathal Donnelly, Barry Grant (2-2), Emmet Duggan

SUBS: Euan McBride (2-0) for C Donnelly (INJ 18), Ryan Doyle for A Scullion (36), Conal Logan for R Devlin (42), Eoghan Gilmore for R Murphy (47), Eoin McCallion for C Logan (55)

YELLOW CARD: M Bradley (52)

LOUP: Thomas Mallon; Tiernan Canavan, Conall McGinley, Michael Lynn; Paddy Coney (0-1), Aidan McAlynn, Matthew Rocks; Jason Rocks, Fergal McVey; Aaron McAlynn (0-2f), Caolan Devlin (1-3, 2f), Paul McVey; Roddy O'Kane, Marc Devlin, Anthony O'Neill

SUBS: Karl Gallagher for M Rocks, Brian Doyle (0-1) for A McAlynn, Declan McVey for R O'Kane, Ciaran Devlin for M Devlin, Adam Canavan for P McVey, Sean Rocks for M Lynn (All HT)

YELLOW CARD: R O'Kane (60)

REF: Richie Donoghue (Slaughtneil)

In the Neal Carlin Cup, Magilligan were 1-14 to 1-10 winners over Ardmore.

In the Recreational Reserve League, mainly for Thirds teams, Lavey beat Swatragh 1-12 to 0-9,  Slaughtneil were 1-14 to 0-4 winners at home to Ogra Colmcille, with Loup winning a high-scoring clash with Bellaghy (2-18 to 4-10).

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.