27 May 2022

Derry looking for a first Ulster championship win since 2015

Both Derry and Armagh have had a poor championship record in recent seasons

Derry looking for a first championship win since 2015

Rory Gallagher and Kieran McGeeney shake hands after Fermanagh's clash with Armagh in 2018 (Pi c: Oliver McVeigh / Sportsfile)

Derry manager Rory Gallagher enjoyed a 0-12 to 0-7 win over Kieran McGeeney's Armagh at Brewster Park in 2018, when he was in charge of his native Fermanagh.

This weekend, it takes Derry in for their first championship meeting with Armagh in nine years, when John Brennan steered them to a 3-14 to 2-11 win a place in their last Ulster final.

Armagh secured promotion to Division 1 for 2021, following their win last weekend over Clare in Ennis, while Derry missed out on promotion from Division three. 

The Oaks finished level on points with Down, but lost out by virtue of head to head and their defeat to Paddy Tally's side in Newry

Derry have not won an Ulster championship game since Brian McIver's tenure and narrow win (0-12 to 0-11) at home to Down.

Armagh have a similar record, winning only two games in the last seven seasons.

The winners of Sunday's Celtic Park clash will play Donegal or Tyrone in the semi-final on November 14.

Teams from Derry's win in 2015

DERRY: T Mallon; O Duffy, B Rogers, D McBride; K Johnston, C McKaigue, C McFaul; N Holly, F Doherty; SL McGoldrick, M Lynch (0-5, 2f), E Lynn (0-1); B Heron, E Bradley (0-5, 3f), D Heavron
SUBS: C O'Boyle (0-1) for Heron (53), T O'Brien for Lynn (63)

DOWN: S Kane; D O'Hagan, L Howard, R Boyle; D Turley, B McArdle, C McGovern; P Fitzpatrick, C Mooney; P Devlin (0-6, 6f), C Maginn, K McKernan (0-2); M Poland, C Laverty (0-2), D O'Hare (0-1, f)
SUBS: P Downey for Maginn (48), J Johnston for Fitzpatrick (60), A McConville for Mooney (66), N Madine for Devlin (69), D O'Hanlon for O'Hagan (BC, 70)

Derry v Armagh
2011: Derry 3-14 Armagh 1-11 (Ulster semi-final)
2010: Armagh 1-10 Derry 1-7 (Ulster preliminary round)
2007: Derry 0-10 Armagh 0-9 (All-Ireland qualifiers – R1)
2005: Armagh 1-11 Derry 0-10 (Ulster semi-final)
2000: Armagh 1-12 Derry 1-11 (Ulster final)

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.