Fintan Bradley set for debut as John McEvoy names his team for Sunday's showdown with Down

Derry start with 10 of team that drew with Kildare before lockdown

Fintan Bradley set for debut as John McEvoy names his team for Sunday's showdown with Down

Fintan Bradley will make his senior hurling debut for Derry against Down in Sunday's league final in Armagh (Pic: Oliver McVeigh/Sportsfile)

Derry senior hurling manager John McEvoy has handed a competitive debut to Fintan Bradley ahead of Sunday's NHL Division 2B Final against Down in Armagh's Athletic Grounds (2.00).

Bradley featured in challenge games at the start of the season, before joining the U20 football squad. 

The Lavey man was top scorer in the club championship this season and is one of five changes since Derry draw with Kildare at Celtic Park back in March.

There is a first start of the season for Mark Craig.  Also included are Mark McGuigan and John Mullan. Both opted out of the squad at the start of the year, before being recalled to the squad by McEvoy after watching the club championships.

The other change is Eamon McGill's first game since  being replaced after 25 minutes of their win over Warwickshire.

Tiarnán McHugh, who played in all five group games, joins Meehaul McGrath, Steafan McCloskey and Jerome McGuigan in the injured list.

Derry beat Down (1-19 to 0-19) in the first game of the year, thanks to Richie Mullan's early goal.

The Oakleafers have won the last four meetings between the counties, three of them coming under John McEvoy's two years as boss.

Down have yet to name their side, but manager Ronan Sheehan his planning without key attacker Danny Toner who picked up a serious knee injury in club action with Ballygaglet.

Derry: Seán Kelly; Paddy Kelly, Sean Cassidy (Capt), Darragh Cartin; Conor Kelly, Brian Óg McGilligan, Mark Craig; John Mullan, Eamon McGill; Mark McGuigan, Cormac O'Doherty, Fintan Bradley; Richie Mullan, Sé McGuigan, Eoghan Cassidy
Subs: Conor O'Kane, Darragh McCloskey, Chrissy Henry, Odhrán McKeever, Paul Cleary, Seán Ó Caiside, Thomas Brady, Patrick Turner, Charlie Gilmore, Johnny O'Dwyer, Ruairi McWilliams

Down: Stephen Keith; Tom Murray, Caolan Taggart, Darragh Mallon; Barry Trainor, Conor Woods, Liam Savage; Matt Conlon, Phelim Savage; Ronan Costello, Pearse Óg McCrickard, Donal Hughes; Oisin McManus, Eoghan Sands, Daithi Sands
Subs: TBC

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Derry Now editorial team on 028 7129 6600 for Derry City stories Or 028 7774 3970 for County Derry stories. Or you can email or at any time.

Read more from Derry Now.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Derry News and the County Derry Post here for instant access to Derry's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Derry with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.