17 May 2022

Slaughtneil prominent in camogie all-star selection

Senior finalists make up 12 of the team

Slaughtneil prominent in camogie all-star selection

Siobhan Bradley was one of six Slaughtneil players in the selection. (Pic: Inpho)

Slaughtneil had six players listed on the club camogie team of the season, selected in conjunction with competition sponsors AIB.

The Emmet's fell short in their bid to clinch a fourth successive All-Ireland title, after being pipped by Sarsfields in the dying moments of the final.  Both teams make up 12 of the overall team. 

Céat McEldowney, Shannon Graham and player of the year contender Aoife Ní Chaiside were selected in defence.  In attack, Louise Dougan, Tina Bradley and joint captain Siobhan Bradley made the cut.

The current Covid-19 emergency prevents the holding of a ceremony to celebrate the announcement of the 2019/2020 AIB All-Ireland Senior Club Player Team and Player of the Year.

All 15 players whose performances, skills and talent lit up the championship will be awarded with hand crafted trophies created by renowned sculptor Jarlath Daly.

WATCH - A look back at Ballinderry's 2002 All-Ireland homecoming.  Click here...

Four players, one from each province, were named as Provincial Players of the Year, are now in the running for the prestigious club  camogiePlayer of the Year Award with the winner to be on Friday, April 3.
The four Provincial Players of the Year were chosen from the overall Team of the Year, which consist of the below list of 15 well-deserving players.

The six Slaughtneil players join Chrissy McKaigue and Brendan Rogers, who were named on the hurling team after running champions Ballyhale Shamrocks close in the All-Ireland semi-final.

Camogie Team of the Year
Laura Glynn – Sarsfields (Galway)
Céat McEldowney – Slaughtneil (Derry)
Laura Ward – Sarsfields (Galway)
Susan Vaughan – Scariff-Ogonnelloe (Clare)
Aoife Ní Chaiside – Slaughtneil (Derry)
Maria Cooney – Sarsfields (Galway)
Shannon Graham – Slaughtneil (Derry)
Mairáad Scanlan – Scariff-Ogonnelloe (Clare)
Niamh McGrath – Sarsfields (Galway)
Siobhán Bradley – Slaughtneil (Derry)
Orlaith McGrath – Sarsfields (Galway)
Tina Bradley – Slaughtneil (Derry)
Louise Dougan – Slaughtneil (Derry)
Siobhán McGrath – Sarsfields (Galway)
Niamh Hetherton – St Vincents (Dublin)
Provincial Player of the Year winners and overall Player of the Year nominees
Siobhán McGrath – Sarsfields (Connacht)
Niamh Hetherton – St Vincents (Leinster)
Mairéad Scanlan – Scariff-Ogonnelloe (Munster)
Aoife Ní Chaiside – Slaughtneil (Ulster)


- Late McGrath goal ends four in a row dreams.  Click here...

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.