23 May 2022

Gleann na Ró's eye for goal catapults them to Ulster glory

Seven goals sinks Dean Maguirc

Gleann na Ró's eye for goal catapults them to Ulster glory


Gleann na Ró (Dungiven/Limavady)....7-1
Dean Maguirc Carrickmore..................1-5

Four goals from Keeley Ní Bhrolcháin shot Gleann na Ró to an Ulster title in perfect conditions at Ballinascreen on Thursday afternoon.

In the 12th minute Cliodhna Ní Mhianáin's shot was parried by the Carrickmore 'keeper but when their defence failed to fill clear their lines, Keeley slotted to the net.

Carrickmore battled hard all through the opening half, but, on different occassions, goalkeeper Rioghnach Nic Ainmhire and Cáitlín Ní Chearnaigh shut the door.

With five minutes to the break, the game changed.  Caitlin Cassidy's shot went all the way to the corner of the net, followed  by a Saoirse Nic Iomhaire goal after 'keeper Devine saved an initial effort from Seana McLaughlin.

POLL - Who was your player of the match?

The Derry girls led (3-1 to 0-4) at half-time but in a scoreless third quarter, 'The Dean' were unable to get the scores that could've got them into the game, despite the tireless efforts of impressive midfielder Meaghan Clarke.

Seana McLaughlin's shot went all the way to the net to break Carrickmore's resolve, with Keeley Ní Bhrolcháin's three goals sealing the victory.

Full details and photos in next week's County Derry Post.

GLEANN NA RÓ: Rioghnach Nic Ainmhire; Clodagh Smith, Saoirse Ní Chearnaigh, Cáitlín Ní Chearnaigh; Áine Ní Mhuirí, Cliodhna Ní Mhianáin, Casey Ferris; Caitlin Cassidy (1-1), Cara Ní Chaollaí; Caoimhe Ní Dhiolún, Seana McLaughlin (1-0), Leah Ní Chonaire; Keeley Ní Bhrolcháin (4-0), Caitlin McLaughlin, Saoirse Mac Iomhaire (1-0).
SUBS: Rhiannon Nic Fealoin for A Nic Iomhaire (56), Aoife Kealey for L Ní Chonaire (60).

DEAN MAGUIRC: Rachel Devine; Eimear Monroe, Rósie Kerr, Molly Clarke; Blathnait Kerr, Mollie O'Hanlon, Shona McKenna; Meaghan Clarke (1-4, 1-2f), Leah McGuigan (0-1); Aoibh Kerr, Aoibhinn Daly, Cayla Donnelly; Niamh Tracey, Michaela Daly, Niamh Clarke.
SUBS: Cáit Clarke for Meaghan Clarke (Blood sub 6, reversed 7), Cáit Clarke for E Monroe (7), Maire Kerr for Molly Clarke (29), Neamh Donnelly for C Clarke (HT), Molly Clarke for M O'Hanlon (38), Aimee Gumley for N Tracey (53), Shauna McGurk for B Kerr (59).

REF: Sean McGuigan (Slaughtneil).

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.