20 May 2022

Slaughtneil power their way to a third Ulster hurling title

Nine different scorers for the Emmet's

Ulster Club hurling final latest: Slaughtneil v Dunloy

Slaughtneil's squad pictured before Sunday's game with Dunloy.


Slaughtneil 1-15
Dunloy 0-10

Slaughtneil powered their way to a third Ulster hurling title after victory over Dunloy at Páirc Esler on Sunday.

It capped off a double, with their camogs defeating Loughgiel in the curtain-raiser in front of an attendance of 4,984.

The Emmet's hit nine first-half wides but went in at the break ahead, 0-8 to 0-6.

Ryan Elliott made a brilliant sixth minute intervention when he denied Brendan Rogers with a full-length save.

It was point for point but after 17 minutes Slaughtneil goalkeeper Oisin O'Doherty turned a Ronan Molloy shot onto the post and seconds later Rogers levelled the game at 0-3 each.

The impressive Rogers, Jerome McGuigan and skipper Chrissy McKaigue put Slaughtneil into a deserved four point lead.

Conal Cunning and Ronan Molloy pegged back scores to set-up a grandstand second-half.

Cunning hit two early second-half wides as Slaughtneil regained control of the game and always held Dunloy at arm's length.

Keelan Molloy came into the game with 1-13 from play but was held scoreless by Shane McGuigan, while Slaughtneil had nine different scorers.

Nigel Elliott was sent off on a second-booking and it allowed Gerard Bradley to control the game in his sweeper role.

A Cormac O'Doherty penalty put Michael McShane's men 1-11 to 0-8 ahead after 49 minutes.

Dunloy staged a comeback but there was no stopping the Emmet's who play the Leinster champions in the All-Ireland series.

Slaughtneil: Oisin O’Doherty; Karl McKaigue, Sean Cassidy; Shane McGuigan; Meehaul McGrath (0-1), Seán Ó Caiside, Cormac McKenna; Chrissy McKaigue (0-1), Gerald Bradley (0-1); Brendan Rogers (0-3), Cormac O’Doherty (1-4, 1 pen, 4f), Mark McGuigan (0-1); Brian Cassidy (0-1); Sé McGuigan (0-1), Jerome McGuigan (0-2).
Subs: Conor McAllister for C McKenna (46), Conor McKenna for J McGuigan (57), Gareth O’Kane for Sé McGuigan (64).

Dunloy: Ryan Elliott; Conor McKinley, Phelim Duffin; Kevin McKeague; Eamon Smyth, Conor Kinsella, Kevin Molloy; Ryan McGarry, Paul Shiels; Ronan Molloy (0-1), Nicky McKeague, Nigel Elliott; Keelan Molloy; Eoin O’Neill (0-1), Conal Cunning (0-7, 1f).
Subs: Gabriel McTaggart for E O’Neill (45), Seaan Elliott (0-1) for N McKeague (51), Chrissy Brogan for R Molloy (57).

Ref: Aidan Ferguson (Fermanagh).

Attendance: 4,984.

Report, reaction and photos in Tuesday's County Derry Post.


To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.