The counting is over and the make-up of the new Derry & Strabane council is known.

After two days of counting at Templemore Sports Complex, the 40 councillors who will sit on the new council have been revealed.

Sinn Fein will have 16 councillors on the new council, with the SDLP occupying 10 seats.

The DUP will have 8 seats and the UUP will take up 2 seats.

Significantly, four independent councillors will take their places on the new council when it meets soon for the first time.

Those selected in the seven wards were:

Ballyarnett – six seats
Sandra Duffy - Sinn Fein
Angela Dobbins - SDLP
Tony Hassan - Sinn Fein
Brian Tierney - SDLP
Dee Quigley - Independent
Elisha McCallion - Sinn Fein

Waterside – seven seats
Gerard Diver - SDLP
Mary Hamilton – UUP
Christopher Jackson – Sinn Fein
Martin Reilly – SDLP
Hilary McClintock – DUP
Drew Thompson – DUP
David Ramsay – DUP

Foyleside – five seats
John Boyle – SDLP
Darren O’Reilly – Independent
Mickey Cooper – Sinn Fein
Eric McGinley – Sinn Fein
Shauna Cusack – SDLP

Derg – five seats
Derek Hussey – UUP
Thomas Kerrigan – DUP
Kieran McGuire – Sinn Fein
Maoliosa McHugh – Sinn Fein
Ruairi McHugh – Sinn Fein

Faughan – five seats
Gary Middleton – DUP
Maurice Devenney – DUP
Paul Fleming – Sinn Fein
Gus Hastings – SDLP
Jim McKeever - SDLP

The Moor – five seats
Gary Donnelly – Independent
Kevin Campbell – Sinn Fein
Patricia Logue – Sinn Fein
Colly Kelly – Sinn Fein
Sean Carr – SDLP

Sperrin – seven seats
Alan Bresland – DUP
Karina Carlin – Sinn Fein
Paul Gallagher – Independent
Rhonda Hamilton – DUP
Dan Kelly – Sinn Fein
Patsy Kelly – SDLP
Brian McMahon – Sinn Fein

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Derry Now editorial team on 028 7129 6600 for Derry City stories Or 028 7774 3970 for County Derry stories. Or you can email [email protected] or [email protected] at any time.