Eight people have been elected to the new Derry & Strabane 'super council' today.

The Ballyarnett ward was the only area which completed counting at Templemore Sports Complex today.

The honour of being the first councillor elected to the new authority went to Sinn Fein's Sandra Duffy who topped the poll in Ballyarnett.

Her party colleagues, Tony Hassan and Elisha McCallion, were also elected in this ward.

The SDLP's Angela Dobbins and Brian Tierney were also elected in Ballyarnett.

The final seat went to independent candiate Dermot Quigley.

There had been controversy surrounding the Ballyarnett ward this week after the SDLP withdrew support for one its candidates, Jimmy Carr.

Mr Carr subsequently stood in the election on an independent ticket but he did not attract enough votes to get in.

The only other ward to elect councillors today was Waterside where the SDLP's Gerard Diver and the UUP's Mary Hamilton were returned.

Counting in the Sperrin ward was suspended today and will resume in the morning.

Tomorrow will be a busy day at Templemore, with the Waterside and Sperrin wards being completed along with the remaining four wards of the new council.

Early indications are that prominent independent candidates, Gary Donnelly and Darren O'Reilly, will be elected.

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Derry Now editorial team on 028 7129 6600 for Derry City stories Or 028 7774 3970 for County Derry stories. Or you can email [email protected] or [email protected] at any time.