Another indepedent candidate has been elected to the new council which will cover Derry and Strabane.

Darren O'Reilly (pictured above with relatives) this morning took a seat in the Foyleside ward after receiving 1,091 first preference votes.

He joins Dermot Quigley, who was elected last night in the Ballyarnett ward, as an independent councillor on the new authority.

The SDLP's John Boyle topped the poll in the Foyleside ward with 1,132 first preference votes.

Sinn Fein's three candidates received the following the first preference votes: Mickey Cooper (801), Eric McGinley (791) and Barney O'Hagan (701).

The SDLP's two other candidates in the Foyleside ward, Rory Farrell and Shauna Cusack, received 743 and 740 first preference votes respectively.

Counting is continuing at Templemore Sports Complex to find out who will claim the three remaining seats in the Foyleside ward.

Counting will also be completed today in the other wards of the new council.

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Derry Now editorial team on 028 7129 6600 for Derry City stories Or 028 7774 3970 for County Derry stories. Or you can email [email protected] or [email protected] at any time.