The SDLP have returned their third representative to the Guildhall at the Derry City and Strabane District Council area election.

Shauna Cusack who contested the Foyleside DEA has joined colleagues Mary Durkan who topped the poll there and Angela Dobbins who topped the poll for the nationalist party in the Ballyarnett DEA.

The quota for election in Foyleside stands at 1,227 and Ms Cusack surpassed that target at the third count.

Sinn Fein's Hayleigh Fleming was eliminated at the second count and after her tally of 644 was divided amongst the remaining candidates that now leaves the situation in Foyleside as follows:

Sean Carr (Independent) +16 now on 870

Michael Cooper (Sinn Fein) +254 now on 1,151

Shaun Harkin (PBPA) +20 now on 1,078

Eric McGinley (Sinn Fein) +312 now on 973

Lilian Seenoi-Barr (SDLP) +2 now on 777

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Derry Now editorial team on 028 7129 6600 for Derry City stories Or 028 7774 3970 for County Derry stories. Or you can email [email protected] or [email protected] at any time.