As the SDLP edge within 25 votes of taking a fifth seat in the Ballyarnett DEA in Derry, Sinn Fein have yet to have a single candidate cross the electoral line in the city.

The SDLP's Angela Dobbins (pictured above) topped the poll with 1,392 first preferences.

The SDLP's Rory Farrell should be elected at the sixth count in Ballyarnett as Sinn Fein's Caoimhe McKnight, an outgoing councillor is poised to depart the race very soon.

After the fifth count in Ballyarnett and the distribution of the surplus vote of the SDLP's Brian Tierney the situation is as follows: Nuala Crilly (PBPA) 1,053; Sandra Duffy (Sinn Fein) 1,006; Rory Farrell (SDLP) 1,343; Caoimhe McKnight (Sinn Fein) 951 and Aileen Mellon (Sinn Fein) on 1,001.

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Derry Now editorial team on 028 7129 6600 for Derry City stories Or 028 7774 3970 for County Derry stories. Or you can email [email protected] or [email protected] at any time.