The SDLP's Angela Dobbins has topped the poll in the Ballyarnett District Electoral Area (DEA).

The announcement by Deputy Returning Officer John Kelpie recorded that there had been a total of 9,575 valid votes from an overall number of 9,774 votes cast. There were 199 spoiled ballots.

The quota was set at 1,368.

Angela Dobbins was elected on 1,392 first preferences.

No one else has been deemed elected at this stage.

The other 10 candidates polled as follows at the first count: Nuala Crilly (PBPA) 826; Sandra Duffy (Sinn Fein) 899; Rory Farrell (SDLP) 1,170; Anne McCloskey (Aontu) 1,032; Danny McCloskey (Alliance) 340; Caoimhe McKnight (Sinn Fein) 656; Neil McLaughlin (Sinn Fein) 538; Aileen Mellon (Sinn Fein) 848; Brian Tierney (SDLP) 1,235 and Warren Robinson (Ind) 639.

Danny McCloskey of the Alliance Party looks likely to be eliminated at the second stage.

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Derry Now editorial team on 028 7129 6600 for Derry City stories Or 028 7774 3970 for County Derry stories. Or you can email [email protected] or [email protected] at any time.