The SDLP's fourth councillor to be elected in Derry is Brian Tierney who has fulfilled the quota of 1,326 in the Ballyarnett DEA.

In an electoral resurgence for the nationalist party, Mr Tierney, who was an outgoing councillor, will join Mary Durkan, Angela Dobbins and Shauna Cusack in the Guildhall. His election came at the fourth stage of the count.

Still in the hunt in Ballyarnett after the fourth stage are Nuala Crilly (PBPA) on 1,046; Sandra Duffy (Sinn Fein) on 1,005; Rory Farrell (SDLP) on 1,325; Anne McCloskey (Aontu) on 1,283; Caoimhe McKnight (Sinn Fein) on 949 and Aileen Mellon (Sinn Fein) on 996.

At this point both People Before Profit and Aontu are both out polling Sinn Fein in an area where they ran four candidates with a confident expectation of taking three seats and harboured hopes of gaining a fourth. Instead at this stage the SDLP have returned two in Ballyarnett and are on the cusp of a third seat with Rory Farrell poised to cross the line.

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Derry Now editorial team on 028 7129 6600 for Derry City stories Or 028 7774 3970 for County Derry stories. Or you can email [email protected] or [email protected] at any time.