As expected, the first candidate elected in the Foyleside DEA at the local authority election is the SDLP's Mary Durkan.

Deputy Returning Officer for the DEA John Kelpie announced a short time ago that there had been 7,358 valid votes cast from a total of 7,520 with 162 votes being spoiled.

The quota for election was set at 1,227 and Mary Durkan topped the poll for the SDLP with 1,231 first preference votes.

No other candidates were elected at the first stage.

The votes for the remaining eight candidates in this area were as follows: Sean Carr (Ind) 822; Michael Cooper (SF) 888, Shauna Cusack (SDLP) 1,129; John Doherty (Alliance) 305; Hayleigh Fleming (632); Shaun Harkin (PBPA) 977, Eric McGinley (SF) 653 and Lilian Seenoi-Barr (SDLP) 721.

It looks likely that the Alliance Candidate John Doherty will be eliminated at the next stage.

There are four seats remaining to be awarded in this DEA.

CAPTION: SDLP Councillor Mary Durkan pictured with party leader Colum Eastwood.

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Derry Now editorial team on 028 7129 6600 for Derry City stories Or 028 7774 3970 for County Derry stories. Or you can email [email protected] or [email protected] at any time.