The Electoral Office has confirmed that Independent Claire Sugden has been the first MLA elected for East Derry.

Mrs Sugden held the position of Justice Minister in the last Executive.

She said that she surpassed the quota of 6979 on 7555 votes at the eight stage, which is yet to be declared by the Electoral Office.

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Derry Now editorial team on 028 7129 6600 for Derry City stories Or 028 7774 3970 for County Derry stories. Or you can email [email protected] or [email protected] at any time.