09 Aug 2022

Council Election 2019: Mary Durkan is the first candidate elected in Foyleside

As expected, the first candidate elected in the Foyleside DEA at the local authority election is the SDLP's Mary Durkan. Deputy Returning Officer for the DEA John Kelpie announced a short time ago that there had been 7,358 valid votes cast from a total of 7,520 with 162 votes being spoiled. The quota for election was set at 1,227 and Mary Durkan topped the poll for the SDLP with 1,231 first preference votes. No other candidates were elected at the first stage. The votes for the remaining eight candidates in this area were as follows: Sean Carr (Ind) 822; Michael Cooper (SF) 888, Shauna Cusack (SDLP) 1,129; John Doherty (Alliance) 305; Hayleigh Fleming (632); Shaun Harkin (PBPA) 977, Eric McGinley (SF) 653 and Lilian Seenoi-Barr (SDLP) 721. It looks likely that the Alliance Candidate John Doherty will be eliminated at the next stage. There are four seats remaining to be awarded in this DEA. CAPTION: SDLP Councillor Mary Durkan pictured with party leader Colum Eastwood.  

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.